Steans On Tour: Players

Alumni from the Steans Music Institute

Ravinia on Tour extends the sensational soundscapes of summer with ensembles that feature award-winning alumni of the Ravinia Steans Music Institute, where young professional classical piano, string, and vocal artists and jazz performer-composers arrive each season to collaboratively expand their artistry and elevate their concert careers.

2023 Spring Tour

Steans On Tour: Players

Miriam Fried, the renowned violinist and director of the Steans Music Institute classical piano and  strings program for the last three decades, will join five alumni of the program for three evenings of quartets.

The musicians proffer a program of intense contrasts. The folk-like patter and coiled-spring harmonies of Béla Bartók are a prelude to the quaking agony of sudden loss that filled one of Felix Mendelssohn’s final works. Musical America 2023 Composer of the Year Jessie Montgomery, who was in residence at Steans this past summer, is featured through the seamless shifts between score and spirit of the moment in her transformative Break Away.

Ravinia is grateful to The Negaunee Foundation for its generous support of Ravinia on Tour.

Concert Schedule

Friday, March 24 — Highland Park, IL
Bennett Gordon Hall at Ravinia, 7:30 p.m. Tickets

Tuesday, March 28 — New York, NY
Weill Hall at Carnegie Hall, 7:30 p.m. Tickets

Thursday, March 30 — Washington, DC
Terrace Theater at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, 7:30 p.m. Tickets


Mozart: Piano Quartet in G minor, K. 478
Bartók: String Quartet No. 2, BB 75
Montgomery: Break Away
Mendelssohn: String Quartet No. 6 in F minor, op. 80

Featured Artists

Miriam Fried, violin (Program Director)
Geneva Lewis, violin (’17, ’18)
Maria Ioudenitch, violin (’16, ’17)

Zhanbo Zheng, viola (’16, ’17)
Gabriel Martins, cello (’18, ’19)
Sahun Sam Hong, piano (’16, ’17)