Bridges Composition Competition

Ravinia Steans Music Institute (RSMI) Presents the 4th Annual International Composition Competition with $7,500 in Prizes and Performance at Ravinia

Missed it?

Watch the livestream from June 3, 2022

About the Competition

Established in honor of RSMI's 30th Anniversary, the Bridges Composition Competition ventures to "bridge" the genres of two of RSMI's main programs—jazz and classical chamber music—through a call to young composers across the globe for new works written for string quartet and jazz trio.

Up to three winners are selected annually to receive the David Baker Prize, $2,500, the opportunity to workshop their compositions with RSMI's Jazz Directorate, and their piece premiered in Ravinia's Bennett Gordon Hall.

2022 Winning Composers

Jisu Jung
“Moment to Journey”

William Kjeer

Kaiji 'Gary' Wang
“Lullabye and Dreams”

2020 Winning Composers

Addison Frei
“Comment On War”

Steven Feifke
“The Promised Land”

Zachary Rich

Application Requirements

View Application Requirements


Support Provided by: