Friday, July 12, 2024

CSO + Marin Alsop with Michelle Cann and Masabane Cecilia Rangwanasha

88th CSO Residency Opening Night

Venue: Pavilion Part of: Kids Concerts Series Part of: CSO Residency
Donor Gates Open:
4:30 PM
Gates Open:
5:00 PM
Concert Starts:
7:30 PM
Premier Sponsor: The Negaunee Foundation
Sponsor: The CSO Opening Night Consortium
Media Support:


Reserved Seats: $55–$145
Lawn Reserved Blocks: $65*
Lawn General Admission: $17

* Price per person; must reserve full block of 2, 4, or 6

^ Price increases by $5 one week before the event; ticket selection screen shows current price

 When Do Tickets Go On Sale? Public ticket sales open at 8:00 a.m. CT on Wednesday, April 24, exclusively here at Ravinia donors receive online access to tickets as early as March 19 or during mid-April.

 Lawn Video Screens This performance will be shown live on a large video screen facing the North Lawn in addition to the Pavilion and South Lawn screens.

 Movie Screens The complete movie will be shown on video screens in the Pavilion and facing the North and South Lawns while the score is played live.

About the Performance

The Chicago Symphony Orchestra opens its 88th summer season at Ravinia with Chief Conductor Marin Alsop and two featured soloists, soprano Masabane Cecilia Rangwanasha and pianist Michelle Cann. In an evening of all-American music, the orchestra opens with Aaron Copland's beloved classic Appalachian Spring followed by James P. Johnson's Charleston, highlighting this early jazz piano leader's influence and the iconic dance of the same name. Rangwanasha is in the spotlight for Samuel Barber's evocative portrait of a small boy in the American South, Knoxville: Summer of 1915. The program wraps in celebration of the 100th anniversary of George Gershwin's Rhapsody in Blue, with Cann at the keyboard.


Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Marin Alsop, conductor
Michelle Cann, piano
Masabane Cecilia Rangwanasha, soprano


All-American Program

Aaron Copland:   Appalachian Spring suite for orchestra
James P. Johnson:   Charleston (orch. David Rimelis)
Samuel Barber:   Knoxville: Summer of 1915, op. 24
George Gershwin:   Rhapsody in Blue


Plan Your Visit

Traffic and wait times are nothing to worry about when you plan ahead.