Zhang Zuo

$10 BGH Classics

Zhang Zuo, Piano

Bennett Gordon Hall
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
5:00 PM
Gates Open
6:00 PM
Concert Starts

Tickets: $10
No Lawn Sales


Beethoven:   Piano Sonata No. 24 in F-sharp Major, Op. 78
Ligeti:   Musica ricercata
Ravel:   La valse
Schumann:   Etudes symphoniques, Op. 13


About The Artist

Heralded as “bright, expressive and moving to the extreme” (Belgischer Rundfunk), pianist Zhang Zuo demonstrates the artistic versatility that has earned her a spot in the BBC New Generation Artists program. Between Beethoven’s cool-burning Sonata No. 24 and the electricity of Ravel’s La valse, she explores the chromatic genesis in Ligeti’s astonishing Musica ricercata. The Cleveland Plain-Dealer has praised her “astute ear for the dark lyricism and jubilant outbursts” of Schumann’s Etudes symphoniques.