New World Symphony

Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Krzysztof Urbański, Conductor
Dejan Lazić, Piano

Thursday, July 10, 2014
4:30 PM
Donor Gates Open
5:00 PM
Public Gates Open
8:00 PM
Concert Starts

Tickets: $50/25
Lawn: $10


Stravinsky:   Suite from The Firebird (1945 version)
Chopin:   Piano Concerto No. 2 in F Minor, Op. 21
Dvořák:   Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, Op. 95 (“From the New World”)

About The Artist

Making his mark on a “new world” in his Ravinia and CSO debuts, “rhythmically sharp but suavely expressive” (Los Angeles Times) 30-year-old conductor Krzysztof Urbanski leads two works by composers living abroad in America: Dvořák gave his take on the American folk idiom in his “New World” Symphony, while Stravinsky gave his adopted home audiences an extra helping of music from his Firebird ballet in his 1945 suite. Also making his debut is pianist Dejan Lazić, “a powerhouse performer whose playing combines strength with beauty” (The Guardian).

Program Notes

Click to View Program Notes

Season Sponsor: