Narek Hakhnazaryan

$10 BGH Series

Narek Hakhnazaryan, Cello
Noreen Polera, Piano

Bennett Gordon Hall
Wednesday, August 14, 2013
5:00 PM
Gates Open
6:00 PM
Concert Starts

Reserved $10
No Lawn
Ticket & dining package $40 (Promo code DINING)

You can make the concert a complete evening out when you purchase the concert/dining package for $40 per performance. This convenient package comes complete with dinner in the Freehling Room followed by the performance in the Bennett Gordon Hall.


Schumann: Adagio and Allegro in A-flat Major, Op.70
Grieg: Sonata in A minor, Op. 36
Ligeti: Sonata
Bronner: The Jew: Life and Death
Rachmaninoff: Vocalise, Op. 34, No. 14
Rostropovich: Humoresque, Op. 5


Program Notes

Winner of the 2011 International Tchaikovsky Competition, Narek Hakhnazaryan begins his Ravinia debut with a work by the progenitor of the cello sonata, Beethoven. This genius musical gift has kept on giving, from Schumann’s pastoral and quintessentially Romantic Fünf Stücke im Volkston to Ligeti’s modern adaptation of folk music—after his Hungarian contemporaries—evident in his solo-cello sonata. Hakhnazaryan closes his program with one of Grieg’s rare sonatas, never before heard on any of Ravinia’s stages.