Perlman Conducts Martinez

Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Itzhak Perlman, Conductor
Gabriela Martinez, Piano

Saturday, August 6, 2011
5:30 PM
Donor Gates Open
6:00 PM
Public Gates Open
8:30 PM
Concert Starts

$25 reserved
Free lawn (2 tickets per household)
Ticket & dining package $45

Be sure to see James Conlon in a pre-concert discussion in the Martin Theatre at 6:30 p.m. on Saturday, August 6. This pre-concert event is free to ticket-holders of the main stage concert.


About The Artist

More than a violin phenomenon, Itzhak Perlman also boasts a distinguished resume of conducting credits. He brings his penetrating musical insight to Tchaikovsky’s lilting musical tribute to Italy as well as Dvorák’s “New World” Symphony, perhaps the most American music ever composed by a non- American.

Gabriela Martinez makes her Ravinia Festival and CSO debuts with Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 12. She will step in for Leon Fleisher who will not play due to a temporary focal dystonic in his right hand. Fleisher anticipates a full recovery in a few weeks and remains committed to his entire 2011-12 performance season. The repertoire remains the same.

Program Notes

Tchaikovsky: Capriccio Italien, Op. 45
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 12 in A Major, K. 414
Dvoƙák: Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, Op. 95
  (From the New World)
Season Sponsor