Friday, October 28, 2022

Chicago Symphony Orchestra Brass Quintet

Concert Starts:
7:30 PM


Reserved Seats: $25

No Lawn tickets are offered for this event.

About the Artist

Alongside the songful Baroque harmonies of Bach and Telemann, the top brass of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra’s wind section trumpet their triumphal sonics with the vivacious dance of Shostakovich rhythms and supple, organic layers of Mendelssohn melody. Across other works, the CSO Brass Quintet adds cinematic flair and a tour (de force) of pan-American zeal from ragtime to samba and bossa nova.


Esteban Batallán, trumpet
John Hagstrom, trumpet
David Griffin, horn
Michael Mulcahy, trombone
Gene Pokorny, tuba



Anthony DiLorenzo: Go 
Georg Philipp Telemann: Trio Sonata in G minor, TWV 42:a6 (arr. Gunter Carlier) 
Verne Reynolds, arr.: Centone No. 3 (after three works by Felix Mendelssohn) 
Dmitri Shostakovich: Allegro non troppo (Scherzo) from String Quartet No. 3 in F major, op. 73 (arr. Donald Sipe)
Derek Bourgeois: Sonata for Brass Quintet, op. 21 
Johann Sebastian Bach: Wie will ich mich freuen (My Spirit By Joyful) from Cantata No. 146 (arr. Egil Smedvig)
James Mattern: Sonata Breve 
Enrique Crespo: Suite Americana No. 1 

Plan Your Visit

Traffic and wait times are nothing to worry about when you plan ahead


Park Map Venues Accessibility