Lara Downes: Rising Sun

Migration and Renaissance

Lara Downes, piano
Rachel Barton Pine, violin
Ifetayo Ali-Landing, cello
Members of the Chicago Sinfonietta

Bennett Gordon Hall
Tuesday, September 7, 2021
5:00 PM
Gates Open
7:30 PM
Concert Starts

BGH Tickets:
Reserved Seats: $12

Parking: Free


Rising Sun: Migration and Renaissance

Tracing the journey, physical and metaphorical, of the Great Migration and the creative flowering of the Chicago Black Renaissance, this program features music—by artists whose work and lives were transformed by the journey north—that tells stories of migration and metamorphosis, trial and triumph, courage, creativity, and collaboration.

Program includes:
Margaret Bonds:   Spiritual Suite
Margaret Bonds:   “Dream Variations” from Three Dream Portraits
Sam Cooke:   “A Change Is Gonna Come”
Nora Holt:   Nora’s Dance
Florence Price:   Piano Quintet in A minor
Florence Price:   Andante con espressione
Lil Hardin Armstrong:   “Just For a Thrill”