Paul Galbraith

$10 BGH Classics series

Paul Galbraith, Guitar

Bennett Gordon Hall
Saturday, May 6, 2017
7:30 PM
Gates Open
8:30 PM
Concert Starts

Reserved: $10
Ticket and Dining Package: $50
No lawn sales

Dining Package: You can make the concert a complete evening out when you purchase the concert/dining package for $50 per person. This convenient package comes complete with dinner in the Freehling Room before the performance in Bennett Gordon Hall. Dinner starts at 6:30 p.m.


Bach:   Allemande from Lute Suite in E minor
Mozart:   Allemande from Piano Suite in C major
Mozart:   Piano Sonata No. 17 in B-flat major
Bach:   French Suite No. 2 in C minor
Scriabin:   Four Preludes
Albéniz:   Mallorca (Barcarola)
Albéniz:   Sevilla (Sevillanas)
Albéniz:   Torre Bermeja (Serenata)

About The Artist

Praised by Gramophone for “magnificently played, thoughtful, and majestic performances,” Paul Galbraith has something most other classical guitarists don’t: eight strings. After transcribing a set of piano variations by Brahms for traditional six-string guitar, Galbraith thought something was missing from the sound, even with his fret hand being stretched to its limits, and so his unique “Brahms guitar,” with extra low and high strings (and other physical innovations), was born. Galbraith makes his Ravinia debut with several of the piano works he has transcribed, including Mozart’s beguiling and bubbly penultimate sonata and four of Scriabin’s colorful preludes, as well as several dances from keyboard and lute suites by Bach, Mozart, and Albéniz, whose Spanish suites so clearly evoke the nation’s folk dances that guitar transcriptions have long held the power to transport across time and space.