Ravinia's Women’s Board


An integral part of Ravinia Festival for over 50 years

The Ravinia Women’s Board, founded in 1962, has raised over $27 million for Ravinia over its storied history. Major fundraisers include the annual summer Gala, Ravinia Gifts and Chair Rental, the Tribute Fund and the Ravinia Cruise. All proceeds from these fundraising efforts help support Ravinia Festival's enhancement of the "park experience," scholarships at Steans Institute for Young Artists, and the REACH*TEACH PLAY education programs in Chicago-area schools. We are extremely proud of the creation of the first Ravinia student orchestra in October 2012—based on Venezuela’s acclaimed El Sistema model, Sistema Ravinia fosters social development through exceptional music training.


Responsible for the following projects:

Ravinia Gala 2014 thumb

Gift Shop

Ravinia Gifts is managed by the Ravinia's Women's Board, and benefits Ravinia and its music education programs.

Ravinia Gala 2014 thumb

Chair Rental

Ravinia Chair Rental is managed by the Ravinia's Women's Board, and benefits Ravinia and its music education programs.

Ravinia Gala 2016 thumb

Gala Benefit

The Ravinia Women’s Board hosts a magical evening of music and dinner at Ravinia to support the mission of bringing music to the community.


Poster Contest

For 43 years the Ravinia Women’s Board has sponsored this annual competition to create a unique poster designed to be used in promoting the festival’s upcoming season.


Tribute Gifts

Ravinia Festival Women’s Board Tribute Fund provides a unique opportunity to create a meaningful and enduring commemoration of a special occasion or in memory of a loved one.

Judy Castellini, Chairman
Rachel Davis Mersey, Vice Chairman
Susan Elliott, Administrative Vice Chairman
Susan Spears, Recording Secretary
Susan Schmitt, Treasurer
Karen Ettelson, Member-at-large
Ellen Falkof, Member-at-large
Onnie Scheyer, Member-at-large

Sarah B. Barden
Debra S. Beck
Jean Smith Berghoff
Elizabeth Bergmann
Mrs. George H. Bodeen
Susan Bodeen
Emily Borovsky
Mrs. John A. Daniels
Bobbie B. Denison
Wendy Alders Cartland
Leslie S. Carothers
Mamie Case
Jane D. Casper
Judy Castellini
Mrs. Hammond E. Chaffetz
Jane B. Colman
Kirby Lewis Colson
Catherine J. Cooper
Mrs. Robert A. Cox
Chandra Cramer
Sandra K. Crown
Jeanne M. Denison
Mindy Meade DeStefano
Annette G. Dezelan
Victoria Dorgan
Susan R. Elliott
Mrs. William S. Ettelson
Mrs. Robert Feitler
Mrs. Peter B. Foreman
Christy S. Fowler
Ellen Gignilliat
Barbara Greis
Kelly Grier
Mrs. William N. Guthrie
Mrs. Stanton T. Hadley
Mrs. Richard C. Halpern
Mrs. David J. Harris
Margaret Mitchell Hastings
Mrs. Thomas D. Heath

Gail Hodges
Mrs. Thomas B. Hunter III
Mrs. Jorge Iorgulescu
Judy Istock
Mrs. Edward R. James
Elizabeth Karabatsos
Dolores Kohl Kaplan
Peggy Wagner Kimble
Niven Q. Kingwill
Carol Evans Klenk
Emily T. Knight
Janet W. Krasny
Beth Lambert
Claudia Stewart Lane
Donna LaPietra
Amy Lubin
Betsey Madden
Mrs. Lester M. Mayber
Mrs. John W. McCarter, Jr.
Jean McClung
Patty McGrath
Betty McLean
Mrs. Alan G. McNally
Sheila Medvin
Rachel Davis Mersey
Mary Alice Miller
Lucy R. Minor
Mrs. John R. Moore
Mary Moreland
Becky Murray
Mrs. Joseph E. Nathan
Toby Newman
Mrs. Ray E. Newton, Jr.
Daniela O’Leary-Gill
Jane D. Otis
Kathy Paleczny
Marian P. Pawlick
Jane Perkins
Sara Pfaff
Sue N. Pick
Betsey N. Pinkert

Cynthia Willis Pinkerton
Gloria Reisner
Nancy Rodkin Rotering
Audrey C. Rubinstein
Onnie M. Scheyer
Susan B. Schmitt
Jana Schreuder
Carol W. Schroeder
Evey Schweig
Kate S. Shapiro
Stephanie Sick
Mrs. Eugene F. Sikorovsky
Mrs. Alejandro Silva
Susan Spears
Harrison I. Steans
Mrs. Harrison I. Steans
Marcie A. Stein
Pamela B. Strobel
Elizabeth M. Thomas
Mrs. Richard L. Thomas
Lisa Brown Tribbett
Virginia C. Vale
Penny Van Horn
Marilyn Vender
Janis Weil
Mrs. Robert G. Weiss
Joan C. Wing
Jane Woldenberg
Patti Zeeman