Ravinia Steans Music Institute

Steans Singers Program Header

Program for Singers | July 30 – August 25, 2024

Attend a Performance

View Summer 2024 Schedule

Applications for Summer 2025

Open Until September 30, 2024

View Application Information

Pianist Kevin Murphy
Kevin Murphy, Artistic Director

Program Overview

RSMI’s Program for Singers offers a unique setting for 15 classical singers to delve deeply into the vast repertoire of art song for three weeks. Fellows are paired with staff collaborative pianists to work with a faculty of distinguished musicians, pedagogues, and scholars on varied aspects of the musical tradition, including style, technique, language, diction, dramaturgy, performance, and career preparation.

Notable Alumni

Barbara Hannigan

Barbara Hannigan

Soprano & Conductor, 1999

Karen Slack

Karen Slack

Soprano, 2008

Measha Bruegger-Gosman

Measha Brueggergosman

Soprano, 2002

Amanda Majeski

Amanda Majeski

Soprano, 2007

Janai Brugger

Janai Brugger

Soprano, 2011

Jennifer Johnson Cano

Jennifer Johnson Cano

Mezzo-soprano, 2008

Faculty and Fellows

Artistic Director

Kevin Murphy, piano and vocal coach


Cori Ellison, dramaturg
Samuel Hasselhorn, German diction and repertoire
John Henes, Alexander Technique
Walter Huff, vocal coach and pianist
Graham Johnson, scholar (German lieder and French mélodie)
Gerald Martin Moore, voice teacher
Heidi Grant Murphy, soprano and voice teacher
Patricia McCaffrey, mezzo-soprano and voice teacher
JJ Penna, vocal coach and piano
Jennifer Ringo, language and diction coach
Mark Schnaible, bass-baritone and voice teacher
Dorothy Shrader, artistic producer
Melissa Wegner, career development
Susan Youens, scholar (art song)

Master Clinicians & Guest Artists

Kurt Elling, vocalist and Ravinia Jazz Advisor
Matthias Goerne, baritone
Larry Gray, string bass
Jeremy Kahn, piano and arranger
Karen Slack, soprano
Joel Spencer, percussion

Matthew Gemmill
Lucas Nogara
Marco Rizzello
Nikolay Verevkin
Ting Ting Wong
Micah Yui

Jonathan Elmore, tenor
Joanne Evans, mezzo-soprano
Gregory Feldmann, baritone
Robert Frazier, bass-baritone
Julia Holoman, mezzo-soprano
Nicholas Huff, tenor
Sabrina Langlois, soprano
Eva Rae Martinez, soprano
Laura Miah, soprano
Siphokazi Molteno, mezzo-soprano
Celeste Morales, soprano
Laureano Quant, baritone
Veronica Siebert, mezzo-soprano
Jennifer Mariel Velscao, soprano
Johanna Will, soprano

Applications for the Summer 2025 season will open in early fall 2024.

View Application Information