Augustin Hadelich

Thursday, July 25, 2024

CSO + Marin Alsop with Augustin Hadelich

Hadelich plays Mendelssohn; 2024 Taki Alsop Fellow Alena Hron conducts Walker

Venue: Pavilion Part of: Kids Concerts Series Part of: CSO Residency
Donor Gates Open:
4:30 PM
Gates Open:
5:00 PM
Concert Starts:
7:30 PM
Mainstage Sponsor: Megan P. and John L. Anderson
Media Support:


Reserved Seats: $35–$95
Lawn Reserved Blocks: $45*
Lawn General Admission: $17

* Price per person; must reserve full block of 2, 4, or 6

^ Price increases by $5 one week before the event; ticket selection screen shows current price

 When Do Tickets Go On Sale? Public ticket sales open at 8:00 a.m. CT on Wednesday, April 24, exclusively here at Ravinia donors receive online access to tickets as early as March 19 or during mid-April.

 Lawn Video Screens This performance will be shown live on a large video screen facing the North Lawn in addition to the Pavilion and South Lawn screens.

 Movie Screens The complete movie will be shown on video screens in the Pavilion and facing the North and South Lawns while the score is played live.

About the Performance

Mendelssohn's hit violin concerto, played by RSMI alum Augustin Hadelich, is in the spotlight as Chief Conductor Marin Alsop returns to lead the Chicago Symphony Orchestra at the Pavilion. "Music feels like an intimate conversation when Augustin Hadelich is at work," said The Philadelphia Inquirer of the Grammy Award winner. Also featured on the program are Bernstein's joyous Symphonic Dances from West Side Story, particularly special for Bernstein student Alsop. "One of the most valuable things I learned from him," she says, "was this idea of telling stories through music. He was a great storyteller. If he didn’t know the story of a piece, he’d make it up. He was always inventing stories because he understood that we, as human beings, needed a story. We need a beginning, we need a middle, we need an end; most important, we need a moral to the story." Closing this sparkling program is Stravinsky's timeless Firebird Suite.


Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Marin Alsop, conductor
Augustin Hadelich, violin #
Alena Hron, guest conductor

# Ravinia Steans Music Institute alum


George Walker:   Icarus In Orbit
Leonard Bernstein:   Symphonic Dances from West Side Story
Felix Mendelssohn:   Violin Concerto in E minor, op. 64
Igor Stravinsky:   The Firebird Suite (1919)
–No Intermission–


Plan Your Visit

Traffic and wait times are nothing to worry about when you plan ahead.